Home > Drinking, Health & Fitness, Miscellaneous > Valentines Day – From My Perspective

Valentines Day – From My Perspective

Beer my Valentine

Beer my Valentine

Gentleman!

Every year at this time I am very happy. The holidays are a great time, but it is also nice to get back into normalcy. The Christmas decorations have been up in the stores since late August, and so it is nice when they are down. Everyone is heading back to work and you can actually get replies from actual people, and not their Out of Office responses. January is a new beginning for everyone. It is a time to set resolutions for the year and to make new goals. My resolution for the year is to have Boise Bar Guide become the go-to source for information about the bars in the Boise Area. (Oh yeah, and I would also like to lose 5 or 10 more pounds) My other goal is to have the “Hour of Power” podcast be ranked on iTunes. (We do not need to be ranked number 1 or even 101, but it would be nice to have some good downloads.)

However, here is my problem with January. I have just thought about, shopped for, and bought presents for the ones that I love the most; especially my wife. I always make an effort to get her something unexpected, and something that she can use. (I am sorry honey, Diamonds are not that practical. Unless you are using them to cut through the glass windows of a warehouse where we are going to steal a box of iPad’s. If that is the plan then I will get you as many Diamonds that are necessary). Anyways, I spend a lot of time getting her something that I know she would like. However, lurking behind January like a predator waiting for its prey is February…and Valentine’s day. It is not that I do not like showing the ones I love that I love them, it is that I just spent the entire holiday season showing the ones I love that I love them. Seriously, who’s idea was it to put Valentine’s day in February. I say we move it to August. Then there will be a good 8 month gap from the last time I showed my wife that I loved her and by that time, I will probably have done something to warrant chocolate, flowers, and presents (The writing of this article will surely be one of them). I like buying presents and spending time with loved ones, but we just did that! Between Thanksgiving, Christmas, Boxing Day, and New Years I have had loved ones up my a$$ for the past two months. Let’s move Valentines to August. Then the world opens up. Everyone tries to go on a date for Valentine’s day.

Here is an example of a date you can do in the wintertime:

Bundle up in jackets just to get to the car. Drive to a dark restaurant where they will not have enough room to store your jacket that is needed in below freezing temperatures, and then have an expensive dinner. Afterwards, maybe you can hit up a movie before making it back home to watch Letterman.

Very Romantic. Now, here is an idea for a Summer Valentine’s day.

In the morning pack up a picnic lunch with a nice bottle of wine (a nice bottle of wine can be relative… a $3 bottle from Trader Joe’s can still do the job). Go and take a walk in a local park or a beach if it is close enough. You can take a Frisbee (I’m sorry maybe I should say “flying disk”. I am not sure if Frisbee is trademarked and I cannot use it unless I want to sell my first born child to Mr. and Mrs. Frisbee). After working up an appetite laughing and playing in the park, have a nice meal with some wine. Maybe you stay and watch the sunset, or maybe you head home because you have actually earned some “bed time.”

Hummmm… Which would you pick?

Well, because I am not going to be able to convince many people that my idea to move Valentine’s day is the only logical way to make this “holiday” better. I thought I would help out and give my friends some ideas of what you can do on your Valentine’s day nights in Boise, Idaho.

10. Take your special person to Old Chicago and see what their new “Mini-Tour” is.
09. Go to the Huddle and see the latest installment in your favorite soap opera: The NBA.
08. You could go to dinner at Red Feather and see how quickly you could spend $100. (I’ll bet I could easily break that mark in 20 minutes).
07. If you did not want a late night, you could go to Roddy’s and ride the bull. After crunching your most private area, you will not want to stay up late.
06. If you did not want a late night, you could go to Roddy’s and hit on one of their bartenders. It will be more painful than riding the bull, but it could still be entertaining (Remember girls like the bad boys!).
05. Go to Opa for dinner and drinks. Even if you are screaming by yourself, it is always fun to yell, “OPA.”
04. Take your favorite person in the world to Mulligan’s, because nothing is sexier than playing a game a pool (I am serious about that one!).
03. Head over to the Balcony and see who gets a free drink first.
02. Go dancing at the Main Street Bistro (She will be happy because you are dancing, you will be happy because they have cheap drinks).
01. You could go to Hannah’s and see how many old people hit on you.

Good luck in February!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

